LTER Scientists, students and guests:

2009 All Scientists Meeting

The 2009 All Scientists Meeting was held at the YMCA of the Rockies in Estes Park, Colorado from September 13 to the 17th.  The Program Committee, working with the LTER Network Office, created a program that by all accounts, formed an exciting and productive meeting. Six plenary speakers (Phil Robertson, Jim Collins, Dave Schimel, Bill Clark, Laura Ogden, Carol Brewer), including an evening plenary presentation on the pre-history and future of LTER (Dave Coleman and Henry Gholz). There were over 75 Working group meetings in seven working group sessions, over 400 posters, four evening mixers, and pre-ASM meetings for information managers, graduate students, education representatives, international attendees, and the LTER Executive Board. Logistics for the meeting are handled by the LTER Network Office in collaboration with The Schneider Group, a company specializing in meeting organization. Special thanks to Luke Cole (VCR) and Kirsten Schwarz (BES) who designed the ASM Logo!

Working Group Organizers: Please add your final report and participant list to your working group information as well as presentations or other meeting materials. To do this, Log in on the ASM web page, go to your working group and go to the "Edit" tab to update the "Official Participants" and "Products" tab.  Please submit your final report as a PDF - if you have problems converting your document to a PDF, please use the Contact tab on the main web page.


There were more than 400 poster abstracts submitted for the meeting. Abstracts for additional posters put up during the meeting that were not included in the final meeting agenda can be seen on the "Posters" tab.

Note that you need to log into this site with your LTER account information to update Working Group information or see your account information and schedule. If you don't have a LTER account, follow the instructions from the Login sidebar to request a new account or request a new password if you forgot it on an existing LTER account.

News and Announcements




LTER 2009 ASM Trivia Contest Winners

Triva contest winner!

Answers to the ASM trivia contest were judged in two ways - both with partial credit and without.  Either way the winner of a choice of a book in the LTER books series remained the same.  The winner is (drum roll please...).

Don Henshaw

Runners-up in order are:

John Porter, Scott Collins, Evelyn Gaiser, Deb Peters, Ryan Colton, Dave Coleman, Brook Wilke, Chelsea Crenshaw and M. ("Gastil") Gastil-Buhl


ASM Plenary Videos Available for Viewing

Video and presentations captured during the ASM plenaries are available for viewing from the media server at this URL:

Availability will be updated as presenter permissions are obtained.

J Megan Waltz wins Student Poster Contest

Congratulations to J Megan Waltz (KBS) for winning the 2009 ASM Student Poster Contest. Megan’s poster, Predator and pollinator response to flowering strips varies with landscape diversity, came first among 175 student poster entries, enabling her to win a $100 check.

International ecology conference to address integrating science, society, and education for sustainability

Ecology researchers to share ideas and discuss results from long term research

"FINAL" ASM Program

The program content for the 2009 LTER All Scientists Meeting was extracted from the ASM Website on Wednesday Morning, September 9, 2009.  There are still 50 slots available for posters but the poster titles will not appear in the printed program and student poster entries will no longer be included in the Student Poster Competition.  Poster may also not be deleted from the program at this point.   A PDF version of the ASM Program may be downloaded here.

Syndicate content

Welcome Guest

Login to submit photos to the image gallery, late poster abstracts and working group reports